JUDICIAL SYSTEM 647

Columbia and Alberta. It sits primarily in Whitehorse. The territorial court, as enabled by the Territorial Court Act (RSYT 1971, c. M-1), has two full-time judges and a pool of deputy judges on call, all appointed by the territorial commissioner. There are also 45 justices of the peace serving in 13 widely scattered circuit locations.

Northwest Territories has a court system consisting of a court of appeal, a supreme court and a territorial court. The court of appeal consists of the resident justice of Northwest Territories, the resident justice of Yukon, the chief justice of Alberta and 12 judges of the court of appeal of Alberta. It sits annually in Yellowknife and in Edmonton and Calgary, as required. The supreme court is presided over by two resident justices of Northwest Territories, the resident justice of Yukon, and when required, eight federally appointed judges from Alberta, plus three from Quebec and two from Ontario. It sits permanently in Yellowknife and goes on circuit to various locations as required. The territorial court consists of four territorially appointed judges; three sit permanently in Yellowknife and one in Hay River, as well as travelling on circuit. There are about 111 justices of the peace serving in various communities.

20.2.6 Canadian Judicial Council

The Canadian Judicial Council, as established under amendments to the Judges Act, consists of the chief justice of Canada and the chief justices and associate chief justices of superior courts. The council's purpose is to promote efficiency and uniformity, and to improve the quality of judicial service in superior and county courts. It is assisted in these tasks by a county court committee composed of senior county court judges of the jurisdictions.

The council organizes conferences and educational seminars for federally appointed judges, acts as a focal point for discussion of issues of interest to the judiciary, and conducts investigations of allegations or complaints made in respect of a federally appointed judge.

20.2.7 Office of the Commissioner for Federal Judicial Affairs

The Commissioner for Federal Judicial Affairs, under the minister of justice, is responsible for administrative matters pertaining to the Canadian Judicial Council and all federally appointed judges excluding those of the Supreme Court of Canada. Specific duties include the administration of judges' salaries, allowances and annuities as provided for in the Judges Act, the preparation of budgetary submissions for the requirements of the office and the Canadian Judicial Council, and such other tasks associated with the proper functioning of the judicial system as may be assigned by the minister of justice. The position was established in 1978 under amendments to the Judges Act.

20.3 Legal services

20.3.1 The legal profession

Lawyers are part of the machinery of justice and are considered officers of the court. They represent parties appearing before the courts in both civil actions and criminal proceedings, and in these situations are often referred to as counsel. The initials QC after a lawyer's name mean Queen's Counsel, a title given by the government to lawyers in recognition of experience and competence.

Lawyers also assist and advise individuals, organizations and institutions (including governments) in all activities having a legal element. A lawyer appearing for a client in court is acting as a barrister and one engaged in other activities as a solicitor. These are English terms carried over from the way the legal profession developed and is still organized in England, where there is a clear division between the two. Every Canadian lawyer, however, is both a barrister and a solicitor, although some lawyers specialize in court or barrister work. Others, by far the greater number, devote themselves to the solicitor or office work of assisting and advising.

In Quebec the profession is divided between advocates (lawyers) and notaries. The advocate acts both as a barrister and solicitor. He may plead in court and also provide legal advice to his client. The notary may appear in court only on non-contentious matters such as adoption proceedings. He has the power to prepare certain documents, such as wills, deeds of sale of real property, and marriage contracts.

In all provinces, lawyers are organized in provincial law societies which control admission to the profession and discipline their members to maintain high standards. Before being admitted to practice, a potential lawyer must complete rigorous and lengthy education and training. This differs in detail from province to province but usually includes two years of university, three years of law school, up to a year of apprenticeship called articling or clerkship under the supervision of a practicing lawyer, and some special practice courses supervised by the law society.

20.3.2 Department of Justice

Criminal prosecutions. The department of justice has regional offices at Halifax, Montréal, Toronto, Winnipeg, Saskatoon, Edmonton, Vancouver and Yellowknife. A Crown attorney's office is in Whitehorse and an Ottawa office (criminal prosecutions section) is staffed with full-time prosecutors.

The Ottawa office is composed of a headquarters division, an anti-trust division, an Ottawa region division and a Hull region division. To supplement regular staff, standing agents and ad hoc agents are employed to prosecute under particular statutes within a specified municipality or other territorial division and to prosecute specific cases. Personnel from the Ottawa office and other regional offices